The Wounded Hound
This print was engraved by W.T. Davey in the 1860s after a painting Richard Ansdell completed in 1847. The print which depicts the treatment of a wounded dog was probably chosen by James Rundlet-May, a medical doctor who also had an affinity for animals, who co-founded the New Hampshire chapter of the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. It hangs in the front hall near the back entrance of the house leading to the gardens and orchards, where the footpaths lead to plenty of open space for the family pets to explore, and the family’s pet cemetery near the garden of peonies, created by James Rundlet-May and Mary Morison May.